

2024 Excellence in Transportation Awards

July 23, 2024 Contact: <u>Bridget Gorman Wendling</u>

ITE ANNOUNCES 2024 EXCELLENCE IN TRANSPORTATION AWARD RECIPIENTS

ITE—A Community of Transportation Professionals is pleased to announce the recipients of its annual Excellence in Transportation Awards, Recognizing outstanding achievements in transportation and distinguished service to ITE, the awards bestow international recognition upon the recipients and increase the public's awareness of the roles and responsibilities of transportation professionals and the positive impacts they have in their communities. Congratulations to the following award recipients on their achievement:

- Burton W. Marsh Award for Distinguished Service Patricia B. Noyes
- Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award Richard A. Cunard, P.E.
- Wilbur S. Smith Distinguished Transportation Educator Award Anthony A. Saka, Ph.D., P.E., PTOE, PTP, FASCE (LM)
- Transportation Achievement Awards
 - o Complete Streets: 300 West: 900 South to 2100 South Transformation
 - o TSMO: CV-Sync Traffic Signal Synchronization Smart Region Project
 - o Safety: Redefining New York Standards with CLEAR
 - Planning: Design Guide for Bus Stops Adjacent to Cycling Infrastructure
 - Traffic Engineering: 270 North Design-Build Project, St. Louis, MO
- Young Member of the Year Award Samuel Harris, P.E.
- District Innovation Award Western District for the Implementation of the Section 101 Program
- Outstanding Section Award Mid-Atlantic Section (MASITE)
- Section Momentum Award Southeastern New England Section (SENEITE)
- Daniel B. Fambro Student Paper Award *Determining Minimum Change Intervals from Vehicle Trajectory Data* by Zachary Jerome, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Michigan
- Student Chapter Award UCLA Student Chapter
- Student Chapter Momentum Award University of Washington Student Chapter
- Highway Safety Information System (HSIS) Student Research Paper Competition
 - 1st Place: Francisca Kasubi with H M Nayem; Enock Mwambeleko; Hellen Shita; Odilo Mdimi; and Sai Sriharsha Gattupalli Venkata, Florida International University, for *Deciphering Seasonal Weather Impacts* on Crash Severity: A Machine Learning Approach
 - 2nd Place: Sai Sriharsha Gattupalli Venkata with Enock Mwambeleko; Hellen Shita; H M Nayem; Odilo Mdimi; and Francisca Kasubi, Florida International University, for Analyzing Head-On Crashes on Rural Two-Lane Roads



2024 Excellence in Transportation Awards

• 3rd Place: Cesar Andriola, University of Wisconsin-Madison, for Supporting the Safe System Approach: Decision-Making Through Crash Sequence Analysis

Council Impact Awards

- o Nelson J. Shaffer Outstanding Consultant Award Paula Flores
- Troy A. Peoples Award Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Freeway and Arterial Systems Of Transportation (RTC-Fast) For Its Symmetric Grid Signal Timing Method
- O Council Impact Award Peter Savolainen, Ph.D., P.E.
- o Council Impact Award ITE CANADA for its Career Connect with Kate initiative

Read more about the recipients here.