Jeffrey F. Paniati, P.E. (H)

Jeff Paniati has had a remarkable career in transportation, and his unique contributions to ITE as both a member and Executive Director and CEO have earned him the title of Honorary Member. Jeff's journey with ITE began in 1986 when he joined as a member. He served in a variety of ITE volunteer leadership positions, including as President of the Washington, DC Section and as Chair of the Traffic Engineering Council. After a long career with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Jeff joined ITE as Executive Director and CEO in 2015. During his 8 years of leadership in that capacity, Jeff successfully guided the organization through a period of substantial change, including the COVID-19 pandemic.



Jeff's expertise helped modernize the organization, leading the ONE ITE effort which unified the ITE member experience and created a new District and 20 new Sections. Under his guidance, ITE experienced record membership growth. He also ensured the financial success of the organization and established a strategic direction for ITE. Jeff oversaw a staff of 25 professionals responsible for providing a variety of member services, including the development of technical guidelines and standards, delivery of professional development opportunities, organization of meetings and conferences, and advocacy on key transportation issues. During his tenure at ITE, Jeff also served as Executive Director and CEO of the Transportation Professional Certification Board, leading the establishment of the Roadway Safety Professional certification.

Prior to being Executive Director and CEO of ITE, Jeff had a 32-year career with the U.S. Department of Transportation's (USDOT) FHWA, where he held leadership positions in the areas of highway safety, intelligent transportation systems, and system management and operations. His positions included Chief of the Safety Design Research Division, Deputy Director of the ITS Joint Program Office, and Associate Administrator for Operations for FHWA.

From 2008 to 2015, Jeff served as Executive Director of FHWA, the highest career position within the agency. As Executive Director, he was responsible for 2,900 employees in 65 offices nationwide and an annual operating budget of \$400 million. He also served as Senior Advisor to the FHWA Administrator on programs, policies, and priorities for the then \$40 billion annual federal-aid highway program. In 2009, Jeff served as Acting Deputy Administrator during the presidential transition and led the early implementation of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Jeff's professional involvement includes AASHTO, ITS America, the World Road Association, and the Transportation Research Board. He has received numerous honors and awards, including the prestigious Presidential Rank Award of Distinguished Executive and the FHWA Richard D. Morgan Leadership Development Award. He has been inducted into the University of Connecticut Academy of Distinguished Engineers, the ITS America Hall of Fame, and the ITS World Congress Hall of Fame. He serves as an advisory board member for both Transoft Solutions and Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson, Inc.

Professional Associations

ITE – Washington, DC Section President, Traffic Engineering Council Chair, Legacy Committee Chair American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials – Standing Committee Secretary ITS America – Board of Directors-ex-officio World Road Association – U.S. First Delegate, Executive Committee, Commission Chair Transportation Research Board – Committee Chair, Executive Committee-ex-officio University of Maryland, Civil Engineering Department – Board of Visitors University of Connecticut, Civil Engineering Department – Advisory Committee

Professional Recognition

ITS World Congress, Hall of Fame, 2018 World Road Association, Honorary Member, 2017 ITS America, Hall of Fame, 2015 FHWA, Richard D. Morgan Leadership Development Award, 2015 Road Gang, Lester P. Lamm Award, 2012 University of Connecticut – Academy of Distinguished Engineers, 2011 Presidential Rank Award -Distinguished Executive, 2010 USDOT, Secretary's Gold Medal, 2007 ITE, Management and Operations Council-Individual Achievement Award, 2006 Presidential Rank Award -Meritorious Executive, 2004 WDCSITE, Morris J. Rothenburg Award, 2003 USDOT, Secretary's Gold Medal, 2000 University of Connecticut – Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award, 2000 USDOT, Secretary's Silver Medal, 1999 WDCSITE, Young Engineer of the Year Award, 1989